How can I say Thanks?


Once again the season is upon us; the time of the year when we all reflect on the things we are grateful for. This reminds me of the tribute that is repeated almost daily by those of us who never fail to be thankful for even the simplest of things that is often taken for granted.

As I look at my life, I have to be grateful every morning as I get up to go to work. I have to be grateful because even though this is a very tough year where it seems at times I will be overrun by the system and unemployment; God has shown Himself to be real and able to do what he say He will do.

For me being unemployed was a real challenge I had to face; when I did become employed I had to say thanks for even getting out of bed early in the morning beating the traffic just to be early at work. I know it might not seem much but I would like you to consider the question! How can I say thanks?

To me the English word does not do much to express the emotions we feel and the gratitude we would like to convey. However there is not much we can do but say it simply: Thanks! The words of the song say it much more clearly and so I would like to join in the sentiments.

“How can I say thanks for all the things you have done for me? Things so undeserved yet you gave your love for me; the voices of a million angels could not express my gratitude. All that I am and ever hope to be I owe it all to thee.”

How can I say thanks? I would like to live a life that is pleasing to God. By doing so I express my gratitude to Him!

How can you say thanks? Be sincere; say it from your heart and show it with your actions. Just be grateful for the simple things. Please don’t take things for granted! Thanks giving is more than just eating, drinking and being with family and friends. It is a reflection of the pass and looking towards the future with hope for a better tomorrow.

When the founding fathers thought of this day it was because they recognized the journey and the favors that was given to then; therefore they took the initiative to institute a day of remembrance. It was George Washington who proclaimed the first nation-wide thanksgiving celebration in America marking November 26, 1789, “as a day of public thanksgiving and prayer to be observed by acknowledging with grateful hearts the many and signal favors of Almighty God”. I would like to say thank you God for bringing us this far! To God be the glory!!

Leave a Reply

